New dawn (mostly work related)

If you’re on the Lemtrada treatment, you know that usually the doctors recommend a 6 weeks “cool off” period after the treatment, in order to reduce the risk of infection of any kind. And if you didn’t knew that already, you just found out! 🙂

For me, the above meant after R2, at the end of Nov 2017 a full “work from home” until… tomorrow! So tomorrow it’s my first day back in the office. For the entire Dec and the first 2 weeks of Jan I was comfortably working from my living room couch, having daily online meeting with the team in the office, etc.

To be perfectly honest, I could do with working from home for a more extended period, it’s really cool. You wake up in the morning and… there you are! Don’t have to drive anywhere, just brew a coffee and start working. I also feel like I have a lot more done, avoiding a lot of interruptions in the office. If I’m really “deep” into a task, I can easily “ignore” some of the messages in our online communication platform of choice.

My job requires me to drive to Manchester city centre, which, in terms of traffic, “is a bitch” during peak hours. There were times when, leaving the city centre even at 4pm took me almost 3 hours for only a 16 miles drive. A bit “unacceptable” especially with my condition.

Because of that, the guys at my work were nice enough make a deal with me that allows me to leave the office at 3pm, in order to beat the traffic around the city centre. And it works  a treat!

Of course, once I get home (usually takes me about 28-30 mins drive at that time), I’m working for one more hour, to make up for the entire working day, 8 hours. Works just fine for me, quite happy with this arrangement.

That was the “getting back from work”, going “to” work in the morning, for the same reasons (to beat the heavy traffic), requires me to wake up around 6am, leave the house at around 6:30am, in order to be in the office at 7:30am the latest.

We do have something called “flexi-program” which allows us to start anytime between 7:30 and 9:30 and finish between 4pm and 6pm, accordingly.

However, after using the “wfh” extensively in Dec and half of Jan, I wouldn’t mind discussing a new arrangement with the guys at work, to have 2, even 3 days a week of wfh. Who knows, we’ll see how it’ll work out.

 

2 thoughts on “New dawn (mostly work related)

  1. Hey, just found your blog and these are good posts, really appreciate them. I am gearing up for R2 in the New Year and have been wondering what it’ll be like compared to R1. This is really helpful. I’m also in Manchester (albeit getting treatment from Belfast) so appreciate the traffic issues!

    And can I just say, major kudos for the previous “R2-D2” title 😀

    Like

  2. Hey Helen, thanks for the comment.
    Can’t speak for anyone else, but for me R2 was waaaay easier than R1. Mostly I think because I knew exactly what to expect, didn’t had to deal with all that fear of the unknown, first time around.

    Thanks for the kudos in re. to the R2D2 title! 😀

    PS: traffic in Manchester is still a bitch!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.